The Forgotten Soldier (Pike Logan #9) – Brad Taylor

Description:

The ninth thriller in the New York Times bestselling Pike Logan series by Brad Taylor, a retired Delta Force commander who has lived for more than twenty years in the world about which he writes.

For years, the extralegal counterterrorist unit known as the Taskforce has worked in the shadows, anticipating and preventing attacks around the globe. Created to deal with a terrorist threat that shuns the civilized rule of law, it abandoned the same, operating outside of the US Constitution. Wildly successful, preventing disaster time and time again, it was rooted in a fear that the cure could be worse than the disease.

And now that fear has come home.

A Special Forces soldier is killed on an operation in Afghanistan. Complicit in the attack is a government official of an allied nation. While the US administration wants to forget the casualty, one Taskforce member will not. When he sets out to avenge his brother’s death, his actions threaten to not only expose the Taskforce’s activities, but also destroy a web of alliances against a greater evil. Pike Logan understands the desire, but also the danger. Brought in to eliminate the risk, he’s now forced to choose between his friend and the administration he’s sworn to protect, confronted with the greatest threat he’s ever faced: a Taskforce Operator gone rogue. Unbeknownst to either of them, the SF soldier’s death is only the beginning. . . .

Review From Customer

“Taylor has become one of the very best writers of thrillers with a military and special-ops background. His consistency and his ability to mirror headline news with relevant, engrossing narratives are uncanny, and this exploration of the human side of war should quickly be recognized as one of Taylor’s best efforts. Comparisons to Vince Flynn and Brad Thor are expected and not inaccurate, but Taylor is now in a class by himself.” Booklist (starred review) on The Forgotten Soldier

“Slick, exciting action and credible complexity are the hallmarks of Taylor’s high-caliber thrillers, and this latest installment (after The Insider Threat) does not disappoint. Readers will root for the solid crew; the lightning-fast plot filled with tradecraft and intriguing politics will satisfy series fans and newcomers alike. Suggest to all fans of military thrillers and as a read-alike for Vince Flynn.” Library Journal on The Forgotten Soldier

“Brad Taylor… takes his considerable talents to a new level with ‘The Forgotten Soldier,’ his latest thriller to feature Pike Logan and his stalwart Taskforce team. It’s one thing to write great action scenes, quite another to bring us into the actual mindset of the special ops world he knows so well.” —Providence Journal on The Forgotten Soldier

“Taylor delivers the latest addition to his growing body of convincing plots. As in his previous thrillers (The Insider Threat, 2015, etc.), he spins a tale that could easily have been lifted from our current sociopolitical reality… A realistic page-turner that fills a need for thrills while questioning the complicated process of statecraft.” Kirkus on The Forgotten Soldier

“Terrific stuff, twistier than usual and just as action packed.” Sullivan County Democrat on The Forgotten Soldier

“Fresh plot, great action, and Taylor clearly knows what he is writing about. . . . When it comes to tactics and hardware he is spot-on.” —Vince Flynn on All Necessary Force

“[Brad Taylor] knows how to unveil the behind-the-scenes action….[A] terrific, fast-paced read.” —Associated Press on Days of Rage

“Bestseller Taylor’s fifth Pike Logan thriller takes all the energy of the previous installments and multiplies it by a force factor of 10… A great premise, nonstop action, and one of the baddest villains in the genre… make this a winner.” Publishers Weekly (starred review) on The Polaris Protocol

“A Pike Logan thriller filled with heart-thumping action and insane heroics….A fun, satisfying adventure.” Kirkus Reviews on Days of Rage (starred review)

“Taylor continues to tell exciting action stories with the authenticity of someone who knows the world of special ops. He also has the chops to create terrific characters whom readers will root for. This series just gets better and better.” Booklist on The Polaris Protocol

Download: